New Data Protection Commissioners take up their new roles

20th February 2024

Dr. Des Hogan and Mr. Dale Sunderland have today commenced their roles as Commissioners with the Irish Data Protection Commission. Dr Hogan will be the Chair of the Commission. Both appointments were announced by Government last week, with the Commissioners appointed for a five-year term.

Dr. Hogan: “I am delighted to be taking up the position of Commissioner for Data Protection, and Chairperson, following the Government decision to appoint two Commissioners and the formal appointment made by the Minister for Justice. It is a deep honour to be joining the Commission and its dedicated staff to serve the people of Ireland, and partner with our European colleagues in safeguarding data protection rights. The Commission will aim to build on its strong legacy over the coming years and I look forward to working with its many stakeholders.”

Mr. Sunderland: “It is a privilege to be appointed to the position of Commissioner for Data Protection. I look forward to working closely with my fellow Commissioner Des Hogan, the Data Protection Commission’s talented and dedicated staff, our European data protection authority colleagues and the wider global data protection and privacy regulatory community. We will continue to uphold data protection rights through guidance, engagement and the effective and fair supervision and enforcement of the GDPR and other data protection laws.”

Dr. Hogan also paid tribute to the outgoing Commissioner, Helen Dixon, whose tenure came to an end yesterday, after almost 10 years in office. “I am deeply grateful to our predecessor Commissioner Dixon for her outstanding dedication and public service during her tenure. The Commission will strive to build on her legacy.”